Add sudo privileges in Linux

Few days before I installed debian on my laptop. It was recommended by one of my friends otherwise I have been using Ubuntu or Elementary. But Debian is more raw than any of those. But yeah, I installed it and pretty straight forward I jumped to terminal.

But the heck I get an error : sans<my username> is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported. Regardless of any clue, I opened Internet but unfortunately found nothing working. I thought of re-installing the OS, but I received a quote from a friend – Its linux, not windows. There must be some solution.

So, here I am writing the blog to help you guys how to overcome this problem :

  1. First open up your terminal.

Type in su and press [Enter] . Enter your root password.

The command prompt now should look like this.(sans is my username, it will display your username for your part).

                                                     root@sans:/home/sans#

      2. Now, we need to install sudo. Type :   apt-get install sudo and press [Enter].

      3.  Now add username(sans) to the sudo : adduser sans<your username> sudo and press [Enter].

Going pretty good till now. Relax your fingers for a bit. We are almost over.

      4. Now, we need to add our name to /etc/sudoers file. Type : nano /etc/sudoers press [Enter]. You will get a screen like this.

Screenshot from 2016-11-04 06:31:35.pngScroll down and look for the line “%sudo  ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL”. Below that add a line :

sans<your username>  ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL.

You can see I have already added the line in the screenshot.

      5. Now, Press “Ctrl+x” then press “y” and then press [Enter] to exit and save the file.

      6. Exit from the terminal. And open again to check if sudo is installed or not.

Type : sudo ls.

If you get:      sans<your username> is not in the sudoers file.  This incident will be reported. Then you need to follow the steps again.

Else :         Desktop  Documents  Downloads  Music  Pictures  Public  Templates  Videos

Then congratulation, your sudo is now installed.

Leave a Reply

